Sans pause
Sans pause

Sans pause

Composer: Rytis Mažulis

Type: Digital score (PDF)


For string quartet


Instrument(s): 2vn-va-vc

Score (p.): 24

Composed in: 2001

Year of Publication: 2022

Publisher: Music Information Centre Lithuania

ISMN: 979-0-59990-236-6

Product ID: eLMIC 1204



“My idea was to create a permanent movement without any rests – sans pause, or just “cutting” the pauses in composition, like some renaissance composers did while composing canon elisionis. Segments were produced by means of multiplication of the semiquavers: from 2 notes to 7 – within the whole tones scale, from 8 to 12 – the chromatic one, and from 13 to 24 – the microchromatic, or quartertone scale. The formal structure was based on the principle of the symmetrical organization (palindrome). The work is dedicated to Chordos string quartet.”

Rytis Mažulis

Legal notice